Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

Several Eurosceptic MPs walked out of a private meeting of the Commons Brexit committee today in protest at what they see as an overly “gloomy” draft report into the recent white paper on leaving the EU.

The committee, chaired by Hilary Benn, has 21 members from six different parties and includes some of the most outspoken MPs in the House of Commons from both sides of the European divide. They include Eurosceptics such as Michael Gove, Dominic Raab, John Whittingdale and Craig Mackinley as well as pro-EU members like Pat McFadden, Emma Reynolds and Alistair Burt.

Mr Benn, former shadow foreign secretary, also campaigned in favour of remaining in the bloc.

According to the BBC, Mr Benn had tried to “bounce” members into accepting the 155-page report but the pro-Brexit MPs believed it was too negative.

The publication will look at the white paper released by the government earlier this year, which set out plans for a new trade deal with the EU, a new customs arrangement and a new system to control EU migration.

Get alerts on Brexit when a new story is published

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2019. All rights reserved.

Comments have not been enabled for this article.

Follow the topics in this article