Extracts from the 2014 shortlist

Selected extracts from the FT & McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award shortlist

The judges 2014

Lionel Barber, FT editor, chairs our panel of experts. They are Steve Coll, Steven Denning, Mohamed El-Erian, Herminia Ibarra, Rik Kirkland, Shriti Vadera.

Shortlist unveiled for FT book of the year

Bestseller by Thomas Piketty is one of six books in running for award

From hacking to fracking: 2014’s must-read titles

Controversy and battles of ideas set the tenor for the longlist

Books we will need tomorrow

Experts in the fields of business, economics, academia and publishing look at the themes they think authors should tackle

Book Award 2014 opens for submissions

McKinsey, the management consultancy, is the new official partner of the Business Book of the Year Award. The award is now open for entries.


The winner of the £30,000 prize for the FT and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award will go to the book that is judged to have provided the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues, with £10,000 awarded to each runner-up.

The prize will be awarded at a ceremony in London in November.

Queries on procedure can be directed to bookaward@ft.com

Have your say on Twitter #BBYA14

Lionel Barber Lionel Barber, editor, Financial Times Steve CollSteve Coll, Columbia University
Steven Denning Steven Denning, General Atlantic LLC Mohamed El-ErianMohamed El-Erian, Allianz International
Herminia IbarraHerminia Ibarra, Insead Rik KirklandRik Kirkland, McKinsey & Company
Shriti VaderaShriti Vadera, Shriti Vadera Ltd

Read more about our new £15,000 prize for promising young business writers.