Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

The reputation of Nikolai Medtner (1880-1951) is still open to question. Russian by birth and education but subject to strong Germanic influences, he went into exile after the 1918 Revolution and died in Britain. Judging by these two sonatas, written at either end of his compositional maturity, his music is not so much excessively Brahmsian – a charge often laid at his door – as too intricate to project an overarching shape and form.

At 46 minutes, the third sonata is a handful. But along the way, both sonatas generate a host of elegant ideas and an agreeable sense of discourse, which Hanslip and Tchetuev portray with verve.


Violin Sonatas 1 & 3

Chloë Hanslip/Igor Tchetuev


Get alerts on Nikolai Medtner when a new story is published

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2018. All rights reserved.

Follow the topics in this article