Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

Ibragimova and Osborne created a sensation with their two Prokofiev sonatas at last summer’s City of London Festival, and now they bring their interpretation to disc – with the same conviction, clairvoyance and charismatic force as their live rendition.

Osborne’s weighty tone is a match for the Russian-born violinist’s no-holds-barred attack. The jagged motifs of the First Sonata’s second movement are profiled as vividly as the syncopated rhythms of the finale, while the slow music has an aching tenderness. The Second Sonata casts a spell from first to last, and the Five Melodies, alternately soothing and sunny, bring a contrasting lightness to the programme.


Violin Sonatas 1 & 2

Alina Ibragimova and Steven Osborne


Get alerts on Music when a new story is published

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2019. All rights reserved.
Reuse this content (opens in new window)

Follow the topics in this article