Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

What is the aim of the award?

The Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award aims to identify the book that provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues, including management, finance and economics. The inaugural winner in 2005 was Thomas Friedman’s The World is Flat and last year’s winner was China Shakes The World by James Kynge.

Who can enter?

Books should be submitted by publishers. To be eligible for the 2007 award, books must have been published for the first time in the English language between October 31, 2006 and November 1, 2007.

How do I enter?

Get the entry form and official rules for the 2007 award here

What will the submission deadline be?

June 29, 2007.

Who are the judges?

Lionel Barber, editor, Financial Times

Lloyd C. Blankfein, chairman and chief executive officer, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc

John Gapper, chief business commentator and associate editor, Financial Times

Jeffrey Garten, Juan Trippe Professor of International Trade, Finance and Business, Yale School of Management

Rachel Lomax, deputy governor for monetary policy, Bank of England

N.R. Narayana Murthy, chairman and chief mentor, Infosys Technologies

Sir Martin Sorrell, chief executive, WPP

What is the prize?

The winner will receive £30,000. Other shortlisted authors will receive £5,000 each.

When will the shortlist and winner ber announced?

Judges will consider submissions in summer 2007 and announce a shortlist of up to six titles in early autumn. The winner will be announced and the prize presented at a gala event in London on October 25, 2007.

Can I nominate business books I have enjoyed?

You can air your opinion about your favourite business book – and see what other people think – here Over the summer and after the shortlist is announced, look out for more polls and features on this site.

Only publishers and bona fide imprints can nominate books for the award. The judges will also be able to invite nominations from publishers and they will decide on the shortlist and eventual winner.

Who won in previous years?

Thomas Friedman’s The World is Flat was the winner of the 2005 award and James Kynge’s China Shakes The World won last year. You can find more information about the 2005 award here and about the 2006 award here, including details of the shortlisted books and authors, interviews with the judges and the winning author, and further insights into the process.

How do I contact you?

The judges will not enter into any correspondence, but queries on procedure can be directed to bookaward@ft.com

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2018. All rights reserved.

Comments have not been enabled for this article.