Former Royal Bank of Scotland chief executive Sir George Mathewson
Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

The former chairman of Royal Bank of Scotland and a fisheries businessman were the largest donors to the Scottish referendum Yes campaign during the two weeks to September 5.

Sir George Mathewson, the honorary vice-president of Yes Scotland who retired as RBS chairman in 2006, gave £20,000 while William Tait Senior, a director of Denholm Seafood, donated £100,000.

Sir George has campaigned vigorously in favour of independence, arguing that secession would not damage Scottish banks.

Joe Hemani, chief executive of IT wholesaler Westcoast and vice-president of Chelsea football club, was the largest donor to the No camp in the same period, giving £10,000. He gave £10,000 to Let’s Stay Together, a group which is holding a rally in Trafalgar Square on Monday evening.

Under Electoral Commission rules, registered campaigners that are not political parties had to declare donations and loans of more than £7,500 that were received up to September 5 by last Friday. Mr Tait, Sir George and Mr Hemani were the only donors who gave more than the £7,500 threshold during the fortnight.

Donations of more than £500 received after September 5 will be reported after the vote. The law does not classify sums of less than £500 as donations, and as such they do not have to be reported.

Political parties do not have to reveal donations made to them during the campaign, but do have to say how much they spent on it.

Since December 18 2013, the 17 Yes campaign groups have received £1.8m from donations of more than £7,500, with £1.5m of this being given to Yes Scotland. Groups campaigning for a No vote have received £2.75m, with £2.4m of this being donated to Better Together before June 26.

The largest donations have come from Lottery winners Colin and Christine Weir, who each gave £500,000 to Yes Scotland, and Joanne Murray, better known as author JK Rowling, who gave £1m to Better Together.

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2018. All rights reserved.