Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

Charm, good cheer and emotional poise are the qualities Haydn communicates throughout his 68 quartets, and they are handsomely represented by the Paris-based Quatuor Modigliani in Opus 50 No 1, Opus 76 No 1 and, best known of the three, Opus 77 No 1.

The first (1787) followed the success of the “Paris” symphonies, while the other two, dating from roughly 10 years later, belong to Haydn’s last cycle of quartets. Every detail speaks in this ultra-civilised music.


String Quartets Opus 76 No 1 etc

Quatuor Modigliani


Get alerts on Arts when a new story is published

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2018. All rights reserved.

Follow the topics in this article