Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

This useful pairing finds Brahms at his most autumnal, the entire quartet unfolding at moderate speeds and the quintet dominated by a mood of elegy and nostalgia.

The Brodskys offer a mellow account of the former and blend well with Collins in the latter – especially the great Adagio, which has a shimmering, ruminative quality.

But it is essential in this music not to wallow in the reflective aspects to the point where tempi drag and contrasts are ironed out – a trap into which these gentle, almost genteel, performances nearly fall.


String Quartet Op 51 No 2, Clarinet Quintet

Brodsky Quartet, Michael Collins


Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2018. All rights reserved.