Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

Under the latest revamp of its accreditation criteria, the London-based Association of MBAs has introduced a scheme under which MBA programmes can be accredited for as little as one year. A three-year accreditation period has also been introduced.

Up until now, the standard Amba accreditation period has been for a maximum of five years, with some schools subject to a “desk top review”, usually after around two years. Although called the Association of MBAs, the group also accredits Masters in Management (or MBM - Masters in Business and Management - as it calls these programmes) and DBA (Doctor in Business Administration) degrees. Accreditation of these degrees will also adhere to the new time periods, which come into effect from today and will run until 2016.

In future, business schools accredited by Amba will also have to complete an annual dean’s report in order to retain accreditation, and the association is planning to make the accreditation process more transparent by launching an online accreditation management system later this year.

Amba is one of the three accreditation systems usually cited by business schools. In the US, AACSB accreditation completely dominates the market, while elsewhere Equis, the accreditation process of the Brussels-based European Federation of Management Development is strong. Both AACSB and Equis offer whole school accreditation, although EFMD, like Amba, also offers accreditation for specific programmes through its Epas programme.

Amba accredits programmes from 173 business schools.


Get alerts on Work & Careers when a new story is published

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2019. All rights reserved.
Reuse this content (opens in new window)

Comments have not been enabled for this article.

Follow the topics in this article