Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

What is the aim of the award?

The Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award aims to identify the book that provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues, including management, finance and economics. Since its establishment in 2005, the prize has been won by Thomas Friedman for The World is Flat, James Kynge for China Shakes The World, William Cohan for The Last Tycoons, Mohamed El-Erian for When Markets Collide and last year Liaquat Ahamed for Lords of Finance.

Who can enter?

Books can only be submitted by publishers. To be eligible for the 2009 award, books must have been published for the first time in the English language between October 31, 2009 and November 15, 2010. The final date for eligibility has been extended by two weeks, for this year only, in order to accommodate the busy publishing schedule in early November.

What is the submission deadline?

June 30, 2010.

Who are the judges?

Lionel Barber, editor, Financial Times, and Lloyd C Blankfein, chairman and chief executive officer, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc, will lead a panel of distinguished academics and business people.

What is the prize?

The winner will receive £30,000. Prize money for up to five other shortlisted authors has doubled in 2010 to £10,000 each.

When will the shortlist and winner be announced?

Judges will announce a longlist of books in August. A shortlist of up to six titles is then revealed in September. The winner will be announced and the prize presented at a special dinner in New York on October 27, 2010.

Can I nominate business books I have enjoyed?

Only publishers and bona fide imprints are able to nominate books for the award. The judges are also able to invite nominations from publishers.

Who won in previous years?

Thomas Friedman’s The World is Flat was the winner of the 2005 award and James Kynge’s China Shakes The World won in 2006. William Cohan’s The Last Tycoons took the prize in 2007 and Mohamed El-Erian’s When Markets Collide was the winner in 2008. Liaquat Ahamed’s Lords of Finance took the prize last year. You can find more information about the 2009 awards , including details of, and excerpts from, the shortlisted books, interviews with the winning author and other features.

How do I contact you?

The judges will not enter into any correspondence, but queries on procedure can be directed to bookaward@ft.com

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2019. All rights reserved.

Comments have not been enabled for this article.

Follow the topics in this article