Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

The Stabat Mater, one of Szymanowski’s most economical works, asserts his Polish identity far more convincingly than his four symphonies: it makes a valuable addition to Gardner’s Chandos series devoted to this hard-to-categorise early 20th century composer.

There is pain and poignancy in the music, but above all a deep expressive beauty, especially in the finale’s soaring soprano melody. The BBC Symphony Orchestra and Chorus, with a quartet of soloists led by Lucy Crowe, give a performance of admirable sensitivity. Harnasie, a 35-minute ballet with choral interjections, vigorous folk rhythms and glimpses of Szymanowski’s sensuous style, has a more incidental character and offers fewer rewards.


Stabat Mater, Harnasie

Edward Gardner


Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2017. All rights reserved.

Follow the topics mentioned in this article

Follow the authors of this article