FAQ 2014

What is the aim of the award?

The Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award aims to identify the book that provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues, including management, finance and economics. The judges will give preference to those books whose insights and influence are most likely to stand the test of time. Since its establishment in 2005, the prize has been won by:

Thomas Friedman for The World is FlatJames Kynge for China Shakes The WorldWilliam Cohan for The Last TycoonsMohamed El-Erian for When Markets CollideLiaquat Ahamed for Lords of FinanceRaghuram Rajan for Fault LinesAbhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo for Poor EconomicsSteve Coll for Private EmpireBrad Stone for The Everything Store

Who can enter?

Books can only be submitted by publishers. To be eligible for the 2014 award, books must have been published for the first time in the English language between November 16 2013 and November 15 2014.

What is the submission deadline?

June 30 2014.

Who are the judges?

Lionel Barber, editor, Financial Times, will lead a distinguished panel of judges.

What is the prize?

The winner will receive £30,000. Prize money for up to five other shortlisted authors is £10,000 each.

When will the shortlist and winner be announced?

Judges will announce a longlist of books in August. A shortlist of up to six titles is then revealed in September 2014. The winner will be announced and the prize presented at a special dinner in London in November 2014.

Can I nominate business books I have enjoyed?

Only publishers and bona fide imprints are able to nominate books for the award. The judges are also able to invite nominations from publishers.

Who won in previous years?

Thomas Friedman’s The World is Flat was the winner of the 2005 award and James Kynge’s China Shakes The World won in 2006. William Cohan’s The Last Tycoons took the prize in 2007 and Mohamed El-Erian’s When Markets Collide was the winner in 2008. Liaquat Ahamed’s Lords of Finance took the prize in 2009, Raghuram Rajan’s Fault Lines in 2010, and Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo’s Poor Economics in 2011. In 2012, the prize was won by Steve Coll for Private Empire and in 2013 by Brad Stone’s The Everything Store. You can find more information about the 2013 awards, including details of, and excerpts from, the shortlisted books, interviews with the winning authors and other features.

How do I contact you?

The judges will not enter into any correspondence, but queries on procedure can be directed to bookaward@ft.com

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2017. All rights reserved. You may share using our article tools. Please don't copy articles from FT.com and redistribute by email or post to the web.