Alan Greenspan’s newly published account of his life, times and the prospects for the world economy has won a place among the finalists of this year’s Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award. The former Federal Reserve chairman’s book, The Age of Turbulence, will go up against five other titles for the £30,000 award. They tackle topics as varied as immigration, sustainable energy, high finance, internet-fuelled innovation and the impact of the unforeseeable.

The finalists, selected by a panel of expert judges, are:

The Age of Turbulence, by Alan Greenspan
Published on September 17, the book is already creating a stir in political and economic circles. Synopsis, reviews and judge’s audio, plus extract.

The Black Swan, Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Taleb’s latest bestseller about how we underestimate at our peril the risk of highly improbable events. Synopsis, reviews and judge’s audio.

Immigrants, by Philippe Legrain
Arguing for freer migration, the book takes on one of the most emotive topics in the political and business world. Synopsis, reviews and judge’s audio, plus extract.

The Last Tycoons, William D Cohan
A no-holds-barred account of the rise of Lazard Frères, the investment bank. Synopsis, reviews and judge’s audio, plus extract.

Wikinomics, by Don Tapscott and Anthony D Williams
An explanation of how internet-based collaboration can be harnessed to produce even more innovative content, products and services. Synopsis, reviews and judge’s audio, plus extract.

Zoom, by Iain Carson and Vijay V Vaitheeswaran
The book describes how Big Oil and the world’s carmarkers are striving to meet the challenge of developing new fuels and technologies. Synopsis and judge’s audio, plus extract.

The seven judges will convene again on October 25 in London to decide which of the six titles should win the coveted prize. The award will be presented at a gala dinner that evening at the British Library, where Lakshmi Mittal, chief executive of ArcelorMittal, will make the keynote speech.

Lionel Barber, editor of the FT and one of the judges, praised the “excellent and diverse” shortlist and said he was expecting the debate to select a winner to be “particularly lively”.

Past winners of the award were Thomas Friedman for The World is Flat, in 2005, and James Kynge, whose China Shakes the World, won in 2006.

There were more than 150 entries for the 2007 award, which aims to select book that provides “the most compelling and enjoyable insight” into modern business issues, including management, finance and economics. The judges selected the shortlist from 15 titles chosen by Financial Times’ specialists.

What is the best business book of all time? The FT asked top CEOs, academics and other experts for their choices. Now, we want your views in our poll and forum.

Get alerts on Books when a new story is published

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2022. All rights reserved.
Reuse this content (opens in new window) CommentsJump to comments section

Comments have not been enabled for this article.

Follow the topics in this article