Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

Brilliant show jumping by Leslie Law and Pippa Funnell yielded two three-day eventing medals for Britain on Wednesday night after a turbulent evening at the Markopoulo Equestrian Centre.

But an error in the handling of a member of the victorious German team's round left the event shrouded in controversy. Further developments are expected today and fresh amendments of the team result - which at one stage had seen Britain elevated from third to second place - cannot be ruled out.

Law was the real hero on a day of emotion for Britain. He is less well-known than team-mates Funnell and William Fox-Pitt. But his two clear rounds, riding Shear L'Eau, played helped secure Britain's team bronze while propelling him to the individual silver behind Germany's Bettina Hoy.

"A lot of people have created those two clear rounds tonight and the horse was just on fire," Law said.

Funnell, riding Primmore's Pride, finished just out of the medals in fourth place after knocking down the fourth fence. She too had gone clear in the first round of jumping, leaving the last US rider Julie Richards needing to go clear to secure the bronze medal for her team. Dramatically, she incurred a penalty at the very last fence.

The news could have been even better for Britain. Hoy had originally been penalised for crossing the start-line twice in the team part of the competition - a misdemeanour that looked like costing her country gold and harming her prospects in the individual competition. Midway through the evening session, the appeal committee removed the penalty, leaving Hoy to cruise to victory, knocking down a solitary fence in her final round.

Last night, however, the controversy refused to go away. The French silver medallists indicated their federation would appeal the appeal body's verdict. There were also suggestions that Britain and the US were examining their options. Others, meanwhile, argued that the appeal committee's decision was final.

Hugh Thomas, an appeal committee member, said an error had been made in "the management of the start of Bettina Hoy. As a result of that error, she had every reason to believe that the clock had been reset.

"When something is done by the management which is contrary to the rules and procedures of the sport, we have to make very certain that the athlete concerned is not put at a disadvantage because of something we have done wrong," he said.

"When [Hoy] crossed the line for the first time, instead of the clock starting to time her round the countdown was reset so it was not timing her round. That was the mistake that was made."

Hoy suggested she she had not done anything wrong. "When they announced 'clear round' that was what I thought it was," she said.

If any French appeal were to succeed Law could conceivably end up as a gold medallist, although last night this seemed unlikely.

Get alerts on News when a new story is published

Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2019. All rights reserved.
Reuse this content (opens in new window)

Comments have not been enabled for this article.

Follow the topics in this article