Experimental feature

Listen to this article

Experimental feature

Hewitt bookends this connoisseur’s collection with Fauré’s two longest works for solo piano – the Theme and Variations and the Ballade.

In between we hear the first two of the Valses-caprices and her three favourite Nocturnes – Nos. 5, 6 and 13. She brings not just an intimate grasp of the music’s harmonic and technical demands, but an essential refinement – most evident in the Theme and Variations, in which she finds élan, lightness and grandeur without overemphasising the differences between the 11 variations. As for the Valses-caprices, you can’t mistake Hewitt’s delight in the playful passage-work.


Piano music

Angela Hewitt


Copyright The Financial Times Limited 2017. All rights reserved.

Follow the topics mentioned in this article